Last day at Aston

So, today is my last day on campus at Aston. I’m amazed at how quickly the last three and a half years have passed, it feels like no time at all since I was starting back here after postdoccing in Southampton. Still, it’s been a productive time, and on balance I’m glad I chose to come back here rather than do something else.

This morning I made a Wordle from the text of all the papers I’ve published. I might put it on my new website:

paperswordle

The other day we went for some leaving drinks at the Bull, which went like this:

Lots of people at the Bull to celebrate me leaving.

Lots of people at the Bull to celebrate me leaving.

At the moment our house is full of boxes. Laura is off work today to do some last minute packing (mostly of her craft materials) and hopefully sell her car. Then tomorrow some burly men will arrive and load everything into a lorry and take it to York. I’ll be there already (hopefully) with the cats to tell them where to put everything.

Next week I’m giving a talk at the AVA Christmas meeting in London, and then I’m back in London again just after New Year for the EPS meeting. It’s the first one I’ve been to, and I’m looking forward to going to a more general psychology conference. I’ll need to make my talk less geeky though!

Lastly, John Cass and I submitted our first collaborative paper together yesterday. We sent it to a journal that will probably reject it without even bothering to review, but hey, it doesn’t hurt to aim high!

Leave a Reply

