New job, first month

So, at the beginning of the month I started working at York. It’s been a busy few weeks, meeting lots of people and finding out how things work. The department is great, people have been very friendly and welcoming. So far I’ve mostly been walking in to work, and the winter mornings have been (occasionally) lovely:

Mist on the Ouse

Mist on the Ouse

My new computers showed up this week and are nearly set up the way I want them. I managed to install Grace under OSX Mountain Lion, which was rather easier than I was expecting. The lab setup is coming together. I’ve now got two very sturdy Headspot chin rests all the way from Houston and a couple of height adjustable tables are on their way.

Also, excitingly, I ordered a small EEG device (EEG-SMT) from a Bulgarian company called Olimex. It’s a very basic open source design, but should hopefully be good enough for measuring VEPs with. It arrived on Friday, and I’ve managed to stream data from it into Matlab using the USB port (and the Psychtoolbox IOPort command). Working out how to interpret that data might take a little work, and I’ll likely produce a blog post once I’ve cracked it. I think the device has lots of potential if it produces clean enough data, and is easily affordable (at well under £200) for anyone interested.

At the start of this month I went to the EPS meeting in London. It was the first one I’ve been to and I really enjoyed it. There was much more vision on the program than I was expecting, and I met some really interesting people. I’ll definitely start going to more of the meetings and maybe also join the society.

Leave a Reply

